toast to tourism

Join Visit Champaign County as we celebrate the power of travel and tourism locally and nationwide on May 16, 2018 at Pear Tree Estate as part of the 35th Annual National Travel and Tourism Week, May 6-12, 2018.

During this annual event, we honor local tourism ambassadors who's efforts have paved the way for tourism to the greater Champaign County area or enhanced the visitor experience.

Nominations for the Tourism Impact Awards are being accepted through April 11. Download the nomination form here.

Tourism Impact Award Winners


  • Jessica Basalay, Esquire Lounge
  • Noel C. Dicks, Arthur Area Tourism Volunteer
  • Rod Lovett, Parkland College
  • Curtis and Cameshia McGhee, C&C Kitchen, Rantoul
  • Dawn Van Buskirk, formerly of Horve Hospitality Management


  • ciLiving, Nancy Forman
  • Joe Duchene
  • Jameel T. Jones, Champaign Park District
  • The Pygmalion Festival
  • Nancy Snellen, Volunteer, Allerton Park & Retreat Center


  • Leslie Cooperband and Wes Jarrell, Prairie Fruits Farm
  • Josh Laskowski, Stevie Jay Broadcasting
  • Lynne Srull, Jefferson Middle School Archery
  • Peter T. Tomaras; Retired
  • Jamarr Turner, Aroma Cafe


  • Joyce Curtis, Curtis Orchard & Pumpkin Patch
  • Scott Friedlein, Retired Champaign Police Officer/Reynold's Towing
  • Jenese Harris, WICD TV
  • Michael Johnson, Big Grove Tavern
  • Ed Scharlau, Busey
  • 2013

  • Steve Carter, City of Champaign
  • Don Flynn, Game Day USA
  • Steve Flynn, Candelwood Suites
  • Mark Herriott, Columbia Street Roaster
  • David Leake, William M. Staerkel Planetarium
  • We use cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website, although the cookies we use do not contain personally identifiable information. By continuing on this website or by clicking “ I Accept Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device. You can learn more about our privacy policy, how we use cookies, or how to disable cookies by clicking on the " Learn More " link at the end of this statement. Learn More.

    I Accept Cookies